Tuesday, 30 May 2017

Communal crisis: Delta Government inaugurates 14-man Interim Management Committee for Ugborodo community

The Delta State Government today inaugurated a fourteen man Interim Management Committee to administer the affairs of Ugborodo community in the next one year as part of measures to end the lingering crisis in the troubled area.

Inaugurating the committee at the Delta State Government House Annex in Warri, Governor Arthur Ifeanyi Okowa urged the committee members to work together in dialogue to resolve all issues that may arise so as not to scare investors as well as relocation of government projects from their community.

Governor Okowa who was represented by the Secretary to the Delta State Government, SSG, Hon. Festus Ovie Agas stated that the call became necessary for individuals and investors to enjoy a peaceful and secured environment.

While noting that the committee members’ list was not doctored by the State Government, Governor Okowa explained that the various warring groups were incorporated into the committee in order to have an “all encompassing body.”

” We need to have an executive in place to administer Ugborodo for the period of one year.”
” We want the best. Note that there are high expectations and we expect that you will not fail us” just as he congratulated the Chairman of the Committee, Barr. Austin Oboroegbeyi and members of his executive.

The Olu of Warri Kingdom, HRM Ogiame Ikenwoli expressed hope that there will be peace in Ugborodo especially with the committee put in place.

The reverred monarch who was represented by Chief Yaya Pessu said,” With this event, it is expected that members of the committee rally round and maintain peace in their community.”

HRM Ikenwoli congratulated Barr. Austin Oboroegbeyi and his executive saying,” I wish you luck. The palace is watching and we hope you will not disappoint Itsekiri nation.”

In his acceptance speech, Chairman of Ugborodo Management Committee, Barr. Austin Obotoegbeyi appealed to the Delta State Government to take appropriate actions against some misguided and disgruntled elements within Ugborodo community so that the newly inaugurated committee can move forward.

While noting that the task of administering the committee is “Onerous” and “daunting”, Oboroegbeyi assured the Delta State Government that,” We will not disappoint you” just as he promised to effect change within its one year mandate.

” Within this one period, you will see a new dimension in the affairs of Ugborodo.”

Members of the Committee include, Barr. Austin Oboroegbeyi, Chairman, Mr. Emmanuel Mek, 1st Vice Chairman, Austin Ajuremisan, 2nd Vice Chairman, Dr. Ayo Ayomike, Secretary, Comrade Alex Eyengho, Assistant Secretary, Mr. Mike Okoturoh, Public Relations Officer, Mr. Alexie Wawe, Assistant Public Relations Officer, Madam Roselyn Asin, Treasurer, Mr. Christian Akpieyi, Organizing Secretary, Mr. Oludewa Oritsedunmi, Financial Secretary, Barr. Maxwell Okoro, Legal Adviser, Mrs. Praise Betty Gbubene Igbene, Auditor, Mr. Benson Olueh, Welfare Officer and Mr. Godwin Edah, Assistant Welfare Officer.

Must Read Posts